Mighty Victory Hotel, Cape Coast

Just a quick note from my recent trip to Ghana in April of 2011 and a few notes regarding the Mighty Victory Hotel in Cape Coast:

I stayed four days and nights at this hotel and it essentially functioned as my introduction into Ghana. Accommodations are sparse (it’s a budget hotel, not the Ritz Paris) but clean and functional. I had no problems with my fan or air-conditioning and housekeeping was invisible and immaculate (exactly as it should be). The location is perfect: on a small hill to the West of town maybe 100 yards off the main road but only a 10-15 minute walk to Cape Coast Castle and all the major attractions in town. There is a small restaurant in the entryway of the hotel that is clearly a “hidden gem:” very inexpensive but quality food. I ate here at least once every day and never had a bad meal.

The best thing about the experience was the hospitality exhibited from the owners and staff. By the end of my stay I felt like I was staying at a friend’s house instead of paying to stay at a hotel. These guys are a class act: no request was left unmet and advice for local attractions was excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel for those who want a combination of value, safety, and an experience of the “real” Ghana. I learned as much from walking around town as I did in the slave castles and this place makes that easier to do given its location and user-friendliness. I would unequivocally stay here again and consider my time here one of the highlights of my ten days in the country.

Nic Moga

Leave a Reply

